Our past contest winners/special mentions, in chronological order from the bottom of this page are:


Fabula Press Aestas Short Story Competition 2016

Front Cover Aestas 2016 ver2

The Special Mention stories list – these are the tales that were great reads but narrowly missed being selected for the final long-list:

And They Carried On ~ Andrew Cotten

Jerry Find his Place ~ Kevin Moriarty

The Sleepwalkers ~ Peter Newall

We Roll with the Lord ~ Anne McGouran

The Cutting ~ Patrick Gardiner

Sonny’s Last Day – Richard Philip 

Homeless Gary Busey ~ Tim O’Leary

The Vigil of Evergreen ~ Niamh MacCabe

Charmed ~ Janet Olearski

Belle’s Baubles ~ Claire Murray

Annalyn Seeks the Sky ~ Heather Marshall

Golgotha ~ Samuel Medley

The Aftermath ~ Clive West

A SwingEdouard Loigerot

The Spaces in Between ~ Sarah Evans

Silver Harvest ~ Ali Bacon

Uncle Piet ~ Brenda Eisenberg

The final sixteen stories that were long-listed comprise a mix of genres ranging from literary fiction to horror to comedy. Apart from the winning entries and the Editors’ Pick awardees, there were ten honourable mention stories which were published in the Aestas 2016 anthology. These are:

Knitting to Oblivion by Katy Wimhurst 

Running Toward the Sun from Jen Knox

Patrick Martin with My Son to Count

The Interests of Science by Mark Fabiano

Rebecca Lloyd’s The Ringers

The Duchess of  Windsor’s Dog by Jeffrey Manton

Keya  Guimaraes with Spells the Phantom

The Last Communist by Elena Croitoru

Elvis Hadzic’s  Man of God

Dark Sky by Eric Van Meter

Editor’s Pick Awards of US$75 are given to tales that finished in the top ten and had a perfect score from at least one of the judges. The Editor’s Picks for Aestas 2016 are:

In Dogpoo Park by Andrew Peters

Andrew Mayne’s Vinegar Hill

Like our last contest, we have decided to award two joint third place winners this time as well for our Grand Prizes:

At joint third place, winning US$100 are

Haydon Rochester Jr. for “Departure” and Pia Ghosh-Roy for “Nesting Dolls

The second prize of US$150 goes to Jeffrey J. Cravens, for “How to Survive Bedtime”

And the winner, with cash prize of US$250 is Katherine Pringle for “Athry Lake”. This is her first short story to be published.

Congratulations to the winners and a heartfelt thanks from Fabula Press to all who participated, and to the judges. We hope to see you again with our winter edition in January 2017.

The Aestas Short Shory Contest 2016 was judged by

Clare Wallace

Brett Alan Sanders

Joanna Ezekiel

Sandra Sawicka



Fabula Press Nivalis Short Story Competition 2016 



the Special Mention stories list – these are the stories that deserved to be in the final fray, but missed out narrowly in the final count:

Ethen Alan and the Tall Man ~ Celeste Nist

The Anastasia Caper ~ Bruce Graham

The Saving of Little Miss M. ~ Peter Lynch

Before the Drought Broke ~ Nancy Dinan

Mr / Carcassone ~ Christopher Bunyan

Head Shrink ~ Alun Evans

A Host Rising – Nina Oram

H-i-d-i-n-g ~ Jennifer Shaefer

Golden Stone Territory ~ Niamh MacCabe

Crazy Cat ~ Aoife Wan

Heaven ~ Jonathan deBurca Butler

Moonshine ~ Robert Grossmith

Elephants of the Cosmos ~ Ken Morlich

Blonde Heads of Hair ~ Radhe Iswari

It’ll Do You Some Good ~ Kim Sharp

The Gardener ~ Caroline McCLain

the Honourable Mention tales:

Cassie’s Chair by Diane Thomas-Plunk 

The Shot from Robin Bailes

Louise Mangos with My Sister’s Island

Timothy O’Leary’s One Star

Sam Calcutt’s Artichokes

When We Forget by Daniel Franklin

Thomas Ang with Puke in the Snow

Where Shall I Find Refuge by Peter Newall

Patrick Weldon’s  Letting Go

Editor’s Pick Awardees :

English Afternoons by Peter Higgins

Christopher Howard’s The Little Red Lego Boat

And finally, the Grand Prize winners:

At joint third place, Helen de Burca‘s The Ghost Child”  and Linda Maclennan’s “Fox Fur”,

The second prize went to Michelle Elvy, for Lost and Found in Berlin

And the winner of the Nivalis 2016 Short Story Contest was Richard Buxton, for “The Bread Man”


The Nivalis Short Shory Contest 2016 was judged by

Clare Wallace

Brett Alan Sanders

Anisha Bhaduri

Sandra Sawicka

Fabula Press Aestas Short Story Competition 2015

Fabula Press Aestas 2015

 Aestas 2015

The longlisted “Honourable Mention” stories:


Andrew Stiggers’  “Flower Behind Her Ear”

“How Do You Know”,  by Fred McGavran

“Long John of Babylon”, from Bruce Campbell

Mark Patton‘s “White Wings” 

Siobhan O’Tierney’s “The Loudest Laugh of All”

“Dragon Bird of Liaoning”, from Wilson F Engel III

Hannah Persaud’s  “Last Prayers at the Chapel”


Recipients of the “Editors’ Pick” award:


Caroline Mbaya‘s “Saint Kizito”

“Summer Skin” by Richard Larson

“The Mart”, by Lela Tredwell

Kristen Falso-Capaldi’s “Something Else Happened”


And finally, the top three entries of Aestas 2015:


“Dear Violet” by Lucy Brown, securing third place

Winner of the second prize is Peter Newall‘s “The Luft Mensch”

“First Kill” by Tim O’Leary was adjudged the winner

The Aestas Short Shory Competition 2015 was judged by

Clare Wallace

Brett Alan Sanders

Anisha Bhaduri

Sandra Sawicka


 Fabula Press Nivalis Short Story Competition 2015

Nivalis 2015


Featured in the pages of the anthology are:

The longlist …

“The Hearth of Christmas” by Steve Wade

Ron Hayes‘ “A Soft and Fading White”

“The Lemon Season” by Joanna Vandenbring

Andrew Maynes‘ “Allure”

“Candied Chestnuts” by Meltem Kaso

Lauren D’Ambra‘s “Sleigh Ride”


The ‘honourable mention’ list ….

“Full of Grace” by Grainne Murphy 

Donald Roberts‘ “Ice Totem”

“Drunk House” by Anne Foster 


And, the final shortlist …..

Zanda Pilate‘s Renewed Faith in Snow as the top finalist

A very close second, Erica Eisen‘s True North

Too Brief, the Cricket’s Winter Song by Arthur Carey, our third prize winner


The Nivalis Short Shory Competition 2015 was judged by

Clare Wallace

Brett Alan Sanders

Anisha Bhaduri

Joanna Ezekiel

Fabula Press Aestas Short Story Competition 2014

It began in the summer of 2014.  Aestas, the first short story competition under the Quill & Ink / Fabula Press banner was launched in the jolly month of June, and the first ever Fabula Press short story collection was published in November of the same year. To find out more about the contest winners, read on. To get your copy of the Aestas 2014 short story anthology, Click here !

Fabula Press presents Aestas 2014

Aestas 2014


First place went to Wilson F. Engel, III for The Wasps 

Oliver Snelgrove with The Picture on The News secured the second place

and the third prize was for Sun-Gazer, by Sofia Mostaghimi

Alison Miller  had the honour of a special mention for “The Reckoning” – based purely on scores it was tied at the third place with “Sun-Gazer”, though a greater number of judges showed preference for the latter.


The longlist of other stories that went on to be published in this short story anthology are, in no particular order, as below:

Heatwave by Marina Marinopoulos

The Letter by Anne Foster

Inferno by Dawne Gowrie Zetterstrom

The Hanging Tree by Stephen Wade

Stalker by Rena Robinett 

The Pied Pipers’ Song by Katie Avagliano


The judges for the inaugural contest were (again in no particular order):

Brett Alan Sanders

Anisha Bhaduri

Sam Tranum

Leela Devi Paniker


Given the high quality of submissions selecting the winners proved to be a tough task indeed, with almost all stories finding favour with one judge or another. A fantastic reading experience which we wished to share with our readers at large, leading to the publication of Aestas 2014 – a short story collection. 

Don’t forget to check out our Facebook page for updates, and for any queries, contact us at editors@fabulapress.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.